Tipton County Family Lawyers
Divorce and Custody Lawsuits in Covington & West Tennessee: Contact (901) 295-0100
Family lawsuits can be complex to handle, especially when they might extend to multiple areas of the law. With over 40 years of combined experience, the team at Huffman Mason, PLLC can take on your family law case and provide the knowledgeable legal assistance you deserve, whether you are dealing with divorce, domestic assault, child custody, or child support claims.
Get started on your case today, contact us!
Is Tennessee a “No Fault” Divorce State?
Tennessee law recognizes "no fault" divorce, which means you can file for divorce after a 2-year separation if no minor children are involved. Irreconcilable differences are enough grounds to file for divorce in Tennessee. To prepare for a claim, contact an experienced divorce attorney to take a look at the state divorce forms with you.
What is Domestic Assault?
Domestic violence is a category of assault committed against someone who is a:
- Current or former spouse
- Dating or sexual partner
- Blood or adoptive relative
- Current or former relative by marriage
- Adult or minor child of any of the above individuals
What are Orders of Protection?
You may obtain a protective order that will limit the alleged abuser’s ability to see you. While protection orders in Tennessee are generally only valid for 1 year, if a protection order has been granted and you file for divorce, the order remains in effect until the divorce is finalized.
How is Child Custody Determined?
State child custody laws allow for joint custody and grandparents' visitation rights, while also considering the child's own wishes during custody decisions. Tennessee courts consider the following factors for custody decisions:
- The child's wishes/preferences provided that they are mature enough to make such claims
- The child's stability in their current home, school, and community, and whether a change will disrupt that stability
- The parents' capability to provide for the child's needs (education, religious training, food, shelter, health care)
- Any history of domestic violence, child abuse, neglect, or substance abuse
What are Child Support Guidelines in Tennessee?
Child support rules in Tennessee dictate how/when the "Alternate Residential Parent" (ARP) sends money to the "Primary Residential Parent" (PRP) to cover expenses for the child's needs. The basic expenses the judge might order payment for are:
- and health insurance.
Contact Huffman Mason, PLLC at (901) 295-0100 or by submitting an online form here.