Tipton County DUI Attorneys
Aggressive, Professional, and Dynamic Representation
DUI charges can have severe consequences, depending on your criminal record and the circumstances of the incident. Whether you seek legal representation for an underage offense or vehicular assault, Huffman Mason Raynor Stowers Attorneys can help. With over 40 years of combined experience, our firm will build an aggressive and unique defense to fight your DUI charge.
Contact Huffman Mason Raynor Stowers Attorneys today to get started!
What Constitutes a DUI?
The “per se” blood alcohol level at which Tennessee presumes a driver to be drunk is set at 0.08. Those under the age of 21 with a BAC of 0.02 while driving, even if not drunk, can still be charged with a DUI under Tennessee's "zero tolerance" law.
Tennessee has a mandatory minimum jail time for first-time DUI offenders. You will get at least 48 hours in jail, unless your BAC was 0.20 or higher, in which case your minimum will be much higher at 7 days. The maximum sentencing you can receive for a first-time DUI offense includes the following:
- Up to 11 months and 29 days in jail
- Fine of $350-1,500
- License revocation for 1 year
- Mandatory alcohol and drug treatment program
Penalties for a youth between the ages of 16 and 20 found guilty of impaired driving include a 1-year revocation of their license, a $250 fine, and court-imposed community service.
In the event of a DUI, you could face much more severe penalties if you have seriously harmed or killed another person. Vehicular assault, or causing serious injury to another person due to your impaired driving, is a Class D felony subject to:
- 2-12 years in prison
- A fine up to $5,000
- 1-5 years of license revocation (depending on prior DUIs)
Vehicular homicide, or killing another person in a drinking-and-driving accident, is a Class B felony punishable by:
- 8-30 years in prison
- A fine up to $25,000
- License revocation for 3-10 years and no restricted driver’s license
Tennessee also has “implied consent” laws for testing your blood alcohol level. If you refuse to submit to a test when requested, you could face license revocation for 1-2 years, depending on your case.
Contact a Covington DUI Defense Attorney Today
If you have been charged with a DUI, whether it is your first or subsequent offense, contact an attorney at Huffman Mason Raynor Stowers Attorneys for legal counsel. Our dynamic team of lawyers can bring a young and fresh perspective to your case and help argue for the least possible penalties based on the specific facts of your situation.