Tipton County Personal Injury Attorneys
Aggressive Covington Injury Lawyers Serving West Tennessee
Personal injury lawsuits encompass a wide range of cases, including negligence, dog bite incidents, car accidents, or wrongful death. No matter your case, Huffman Mason, PLLC can provide the dynamic legal counsel in your case you deserve and fight aggressively for your right to compensation.
The Tipton County injury lawyers at Huffman Mason, PLLC understand the emotional toll an accident can have on you. Our Covington personal injury attorneys are here to help you through this difficult time. With over 40 years of combined experience, we have a deep understanding of the legal process and know exactly how to navigate your case to ensure you get the compensation you need and deserve.
Our Covington personal injury attorneys take a personalized approach to your case to ensure your needs are met and will work diligently and aggressively to help you get the justice you deserve. Contact us for a free consultation today and let our personal injury attorneys in Tipton County fight for you.
Contact us at (901) 295-0100 to schedule a consultation with our Covington personal injury attorneys and get started on your case!
What is Considered Negligence in Tennessee?
A person is considered negligent by acting, or failing to act, in a certain way that results in someone else suffering injury or loss. In order to claim negligence, the plaintiff must prove that:
- The defendant owed a duty to the plaintiff
- The defendant breached this duty
- The breach of duty caused injury to the plaintiff
- The defendant’s action or inaction was the proximate cause of the plaintiff's injury
- The plaintiff suffered actual, quantifiable damages
Tennessee Dog Bite Laws
Generally, in order to file a claim for a dog bite, the plaintiff must prove that the owner knew, or reasonably should have known, that the dog would act aggressively. Note that dog owners do not need to prove negligence or fault if the dog injured an individual or damaged their personal property and the plaintiff was in a private place with permission or in a public place.
Covington Personal Injury Attorneys Representing Car Accident Victims in Tennessee
Tennessee is known as an “at fault” jurisdiction for car accident insurance claims. The state's "49 percent rule" requires that an injured driver be less at fault than the defendant in order to recover, and that any damages must be reduced proportionally with the injured driver's percentage of fault.
In car accident claims, you can recover both economic and non-economic damages, such as vehicle repair costs, medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, emotional distress.
What is a Wrongful Death?
If someone passes away due to another person’s negligence or misconduct, the surviving family members may sue for wrongful death. Note that regardless of the underlying circumstances, you must prove that the loss of life was caused by someone's wrongful or negligent conduct.
Who Can File a Wrongful Death Lawsuit?
Generally, those who can file a wrongful death lawsuit in Tennessee are the deceased person’s:
- Child or next of kin, if there is no surviving spouse
- Personal representative
What is Tennessee's Statute of Limitations?
Each state has its own statute of limitations on how long someone has to file a personal injury case. In the state of Tennessee, a personal injury lawsuit must be filed within 1 year of the date of the person's injury or death. However, their are certain circumstances of the case that can impact this time limit.
Contact our team at Huffman Mason, PLLC by calling (901) 295-0100 or submitting an online form here.